First, a naming note
Players search for the "shop", but the game calls it the Outpost. Official descriptions and player discussion both use that term. If you are looking for a menu labelled Shop, you are looking for Outpost upgrades — though there is also a Shop room and a merchant, and both appear below.
Room upgrades are the only permanent stats
This is the single most important thing about the Outpost. From the character level thread, where a player asked why levelling up does nothing:
"the idea is to level up your outpost for stats, not characters"
Character level only unlocks cosmetic badges. Everything that makes you stronger comes from Outpost rooms.
The rooms
The Steam guide Tips and tricks states that rooms grant specific bonuses: damage, stamina, health, and the quality of weapons the merchant offers. Rooms named in player sources so far:
| Room | What it is for | Known cap |
|---|---|---|
| Training Hall | Damage | Not stated |
| Hall of Vigor | Health | Not stated |
| Shop | Merchant weapon quality | Level 10 |
| Basement | Rune odds | Level 5 |
| Crit-Chance | Critical hits | Unknown |
⚠️ "Everything caps at 10" is wrong. Only some rooms cap, and two of them cap low. The author of Efficient Solo Strategy took other rooms past level 20 without hitting a ceiling.
Training Hall
Damage. No cap has been reported — one player passed level 20 on rooms of this kind without finding a ceiling.
The exact damage per level is not documented anywhere we have found.
Hall of Vigor
Health. No cap reported.
This is where the guide says to spend first: Hall of Vigor to around level 6 — enough health to survive a Club Giant — before spreading into anything else.
Shop
Merchant weapon quality. Caps at level 10 — the lowest confirmed ceiling in the Outpost.
Free restocks. The most actionable trick we have found, from a comment on 10 Quick tips for beginners:
"The shop resets every time the elevator goes down" — so press the descend button, then run out of the elevator before it takes you down.
The elevator leaves, the merchant restocks, and you are still standing in the Outpost. If you do not like what is on offer, you do not have to run a floor to change it.
⚠️ This is one player's comment, posted 14 August, with no second report. It costs you nothing to test.
A flamethrower is also gated behind this room — mentioned as an alternative to possessing the firefly bot for clearing floor 2. The required level is unknown; a player asked in that thread and got no answer.
Basement
Caps at level 5. Two independent sources agree on that number — the solo guide and a dedicated Reddit thread.
⚠️ Its effect is easy to misread:
"It caps at level 5, and it just removes the odds of a blank rune. At the cap, you no longer see blanks, but the odds of good/bad runes won't change."
So upgrading the basement does not improve your odds of good runes. It removes blanks from the pool, which means more runes overall — both good and bad.
Players disagree on whether that is desirable. One argued the opposite:
"I would rather have a blank instead of the chance of one extra good OR bad symbol. I seem to have an easier time on my world where the basement actually has a -400ish value from cursed bears n such"
We are not going to declare a winner. If you want fewer swings, blanks are not your enemy.
Crit-Chance
Named by the solo guide as a room he had not levelled, which is why its cap is unknown. Nothing else about it is documented.
Strip the starter furniture
The strongest single piece of advice for a new save, from First thing to do when you are new:
The furniture your Outpost starts with is all cracked, and cracked furniture contributes zero room XP. It looks like progress and is worth nothing.
So: break all of it down, and spend the scrap repairing windows, wall holes and ceilings. That raises the room's rating, and the rating is what pays out bonuses.
The same guide is blunt about priorities: "having 500 gold but not being able to upgrade your room is worthless." Early on, gold is for one thing — enough to run the elevator — and everything else goes into the rooms.
Glowing loot you carry home does give XP. A blue flask on a shelf counts; the cracked chair next to it does not.
Farming room XP efficiently
From Efficient Solo Strategy, the only source that puts a ratio on this: the best furniture runs at about 0.2 EXP per scrap.
A player had already noticed the underlying pattern before those figures existed: a room built entirely from small boxes yields more XP per area used, implying XP is measured against floor space. No formula has ever been documented.
Mini-Plant
Hits the same 0.2 EXP per scrap ratio as the best furniture, but is tiny and stackable — so far more of it fits in the same room. That is the whole reason it is the recommended farm item.
Patch 1.04 "fixed Mini Plant's collision so it's easier to place on shelves" — if you fought with them before 10 August, try again.
No Mini-Plants? Chairs work, but the room ends up a mess.
Plank-Carpet
Gives +1 EXP to everything standing on it — and it can be laid down afterwards, so you are not locked into planning around it.
Currencies
Gold
Elevator fees and gear from the merchant. Early on it has exactly one job: enough to run the elevator. Everything past that goes into rooms.
Purple orbs
Furniture blueprints, dropped in the dungeon. Once your rooms are repaired and furnished, the beginner guide argues purple becomes the currency that matters most — you stop needing gold and start needing new blueprints.
Orange orbs
Mini robots, and they only drop after a boss. See constructs.
What you can build
⚠️ We have not verified a full blueprint list. Guides circulate detailed inventories of wooden furniture, generators, metal structures, lighting and storage equipment — we could not trace those lists to a player report or official source, so we are not reproducing them.
One extra trick with a player source: hang pictures on the wall and then take them back down, to stack them more compactly.
What is not confirmed
- The exact stat values each room level grants
- Caps for Training Hall, Hall of Vigor and Crit-Chance. One player passed level 20 on some rooms without finding a ceiling
- Which shop level unlocks the flamethrower
- Whether the merchant restock trick still works after patch 1.07's multiplayer changes
- The full rune list, and what individual runes do
- Whether "cursed bears" are a specific item type or a category
- The exact EXP formula — 0.2 per scrap and +1 from Plank-Carpet are one author's figures
